Wednesday, May 28, 2008

Here's the Presser

***PRESS RELEASE***



Showing Thursday, May 29th

From The Spirit: Aaron Paquette

Bravo Canada

7pm EST
6pm Central
5pm Mountain
4pm Pacific

Runtime: 30 minutes

Bravo presents a half hour interview/documentary with one of Canada's rising First Nations artists, Aaron Paquette. In his own words, Paquette describes both his inspiration and the history that informs and shapes his art. Filmed in October 2007 in his Edmonton studio, From The Spirit documents a personal, human, and spiritual journey into the world of an artist.

Documented by Earth Magic Media.

---

Aaron Paquette has quickly become one of Canada's leading First Nations artists. Featured on radio, television, in magazines and newspapers across the country, this young man of Cree, Cherokee and Norwegian descent is blending his cultural backgrounds to create visual and spiritual bridges between the centuries long rifts of Europeans and First Nations peoples.

In addition to his acrylic and oil works, Paquette apprenticed in both Stained Glass and Goldsmithing.

Coming projects include a January 2009 solo show with the Art Gallery of Alberta's Travelling Exhibition program, as well as curating a regional show with St.Albert's Profiles Gallery. June 2008 will mark his 6th solo show with the renowned Bearclaw Gallery in Edmonton, Alberta.

"In my paintings, I seek to nurture a relationship with the viewer. I try to use colors that are calming, but also fresh and exciting...In each painting I try to include a story that is meaningful to me and encourages discussion. I hope that my works can act as part of a catalyst toward greater understanding. My work almost always features an animal, totem, or aspect of nature in order to show our relationships with the physical and spiritual worlds that surround us."





Thanks to Carol, Raymond and Bill at Earth Magic Media